Get Out (2017) – Movie Review 

I can’t tell you how excited I was to hear that Jordan Peele was making a horror film! I’ve been a fan of Key And Peele since their first episode. I watched Get Out in theaters twice now, and it was definitely worth the money both times! 


A young African-American, Chris (Daniel Kaluuya) visits his girlfriend, Rose’s (Allison Williams) mysterious family  estate. 

First off, this was just a fantastic story. It had the perfect mix of comedy and horror, but it’s not an official comedy-horror film. The comedy is subtle enough not to take away from the horror. The story kept me intrigued and the mystery kept me guessing until the big reveal. 


The casting and the acting were superb! Daniel Kaluuya brought us a very likable character that you actually care about. Allison Williams’ performance surprised me the most. I won’t spoil too much but she did a fantastic job with her character! Bradley Whitford and Catherine Keener are mostly known for comedic roles, but they definitely brought the tension and fear. 

My favorite character is, Mr. TS-Motherfucking-A, Rod Williams! Played by Lilrel Howery, Rod is the man who brings the laughs and the common sense! Sure, his theories are a little out there, but he knew right away something was up and stopped at nothing to get to the truth. He’s the best friend a person could ask for, and the audience member screaming sense in the theater, rolled into one! 


Final thoughts: there wasn’t anything I disliked about this film. It was an excellent start for new director, Jordan Peele. I hope the success of Get Out encourages him to create more horror films in the future, because he certainly has an eye for it! 

Leave a Reply

